Friday, August 29, 2014

Another Salaita Petition Update

I have sent another supplemental list of signatures attached to the original statement to Chancellor Wise. I have reproduced it below.

Dear Chancellor Wise: 

As members of history departments from around the world we are deeply concerned by the recent decision to prevent Steven Salaita from assuming his appointment to the Department of American Indian Studies at the University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign. We believe that the university's revocation of an already accepted offer due to the tone and content of political statements on social media about recent events in Gaza is a violation of academic freedom and sets a very negative precedent for intellectual diversity in academia. Until such time as the University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign decides to allow Dr. Salaita to take the position he was offered and accepted we refuse to participate in any events on its campus including academic conferences. Listed institutions are for identification purposes. The individual scholars signing this petition represent only their own personal views and not those of their employers.  

67.  Eric Schuster, Loyola University Chicago
68. David Ludden, New York University
69. David Stein, Queens College
70. Rececca E. Karl, New York University
71. Isaac Curtis University of Pittsburgh
72. Manu Goswami, New York University
73. Daniel J. Walkowitz, New York University
74. Ruth Mostern, University of California, Merced
75. Yanni Kotsonis, Jordan Center for the Advanced Study of Russia
76. Karen Graubart, University of Norte Dame
77. Ada Ferrer, New York University
78. David Prochaska, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
79. Zvi Ben-Dor Benite, New York University
80. Alan Bachers, Neurofeedback Foundation
81. Jefferey Wasserstrom, University of California Irvine
82. Heather Vrana, Southern Connecticut State University
83. Zach Sell, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
84. Elizabeth Bishop, Texas State University
85. Matthew Countryman, University of Michigan
86. Gregory Kaster, Gustavus Adolphus College
87. Daniel Wickberg, University of Texas at Dallas
88. Jason Fossell, Harris-Stowe State University
89. Roxanne Dunbar-Oritz, California State University East Bay
90. Gabriel Winant, Yale University
91. Raymond Haberski, IUPUI
92. Eric Caplan, Independent Scholar
93. Erik Loomis, University of Rhode Island

No comments: